Supervisor Meeting

Starting the second semester I arranged to meet with my supervisor to discuss the current progress of my website. I wanted some advice in regards to how improve the design of my website. I wasn’t keen on the colour scheme of the website. I had been trying to select a colour palette that conveyed professionalism, but creativity too. The Adobe Kuler website is useful for choosing a colour palette, however integrating five colours is sometimes difficult.

Tom suggested instead of the very bright white background use a very soft light grey, as well as losing the burgundy red colour as this didn’t compliment the navy. Another suggestion was to customise the boxes containing the ‘Co-working spaces’ and ‘Events and conferences’ differently. The dark coloured rectangular shape made the website feel heavy and 2-dimensional. Consequently I adapted this by removing the block colour and simply giving each box a thin rule to separate the content. I also made each scroll narrower using shades of grey to create a design of depth.

I am still yet to design a logo for Media Link as I am working on the look and feel of the website as this dramatically changed from my original designs that I felt were unprofessional. This is a task I need to get underway in the next week. Despite this, the small improvements made to the website have improved the overall design considerably.

This entry was posted in Design, Improvements, Supervisor Meeting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

